About

The NextGenPaper consortium of companies supports business and trade through its broad expertise in plastic waste avoidance. We provide a radically sustainable packaging solution launching a new era in packaging today - without excessive demands on their processes.

The tower of packaging power 

This is NextGenPaper

NextGenPaper GmbH is a consortium of packaging and sales specialists based in Unterschleißheim near Munich. It was founded in 2022 to develop ecological, viable packaging solutions. NGP is led by a highly specialised team of entrepreneurs with practical experience in the packaging industry.

The tower of packaging power 

This is NextGenPaper

NextGenPaper GmbH is a consortium of packaging and sales specialists based in Unterschleißheim near Munich. It was founded in 2022 to develop ecological, viable packaging solutions. NGP is led by a highly specialised team of entrepreneurs with practical experience in the packaging industry.


Florian Walch

CEO
Spezialist für Druck- & Verpackung


Jakob Kaikkis

CSO
VC- und Emerging Markets-Experte


Torsten Uhlig

CTO
Koryphäe für Beschichtungsverfahren
und made-to-measure-Lösungen


Florian Herrmann

CMO
Experte für Branding & strategische
Marketingberatung


Ralf Troyer

Mitbegründer & Head of Production
Beschichtungs- & Laminierungsprofi


Mark Fregin

Head of R&D
Lackexperte


Laura Gilsbach

Spezialistin für Lackformulierung,
-rezeptierung und -optimierung

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION MADE EASY

  
Our Mission 

NextGenPaper is stepping up to become a leading provider of compostable and recyclable EU-compliant packaging solutions. With the latest generation of universally applicable tree-free multi-barrier papers, we provide businesses and consumers with the opportunity to effortlessly avoid plastic and packaging waste. Our sustainable and "user-friendly" products aim to promote environmental and climate protection worldwide.

We mean it

NextGenPaper and Sustainability

We are serious: NextGenPaper wants to assume the greatest possible social and ecological responsibility. Our start-up has already achieved the first milestone in this area with NGP multi-barrier papers made from sugar cane. And that’s just the beginning.

Example of CO2 emission calculation, Based on EU NORMEN 16258

Further sustainability aspects of NextGenPaper

  • No additional cultivation areas
  • Upcycling through the use of organic waste products
  • No harmful emissions during processing
  • Direct processing in local factories
  • Low-emission transport by ship instead of truck
  • Recyclable in the waste paper stream
  • Support for factory employees in the Cauca Valley/Colombia (health and sanitation, early childhood care, income security and social support)

NAC SUSTAINABLY FUTURE-PROOF WITH NEXTGENPAPER

EU Sustainability Plans

The EU's future recycling requirements for packaging are the strictest in the world. With NGP products, manufacturers can meet these regulations without much effort. Already in 2018, the EU's Circular Economy Action Plan (Green Deal) set legally binding targets and deadlines for waste recycling and landfill reduction from 2025. As a result, recycling rates for plastic packaging have already risen to an all-time high of over 40% - three times higher than in the US and a quantum leap compared to most countries in Asia.

As part of the EU action plan presented in 2018. "Circular Economy" ("Green Deal"), legally binding targets and deadlines were set for waste recycling and landfill reduction from 2025. The EU measures are the most stringent in the world and have already pushed plastic packaging recycling rates to an all-time high of over 40%, three times higher than in the United States and a quantum leap compared to most regions in Asia.

The EU Green Deal Strategy sets a common target for re-cycling of at least 55% of municipal waste by 2025, rising to 60% by 2030 and 65% by 2035. There is also a common EU recycling target of 65% of packaging waste by 2025 and 70% by 2030. There are separate targets for certain materials:

By 2035, no more than 10% of municipal waste must be sent to landfill. The EU Circular Economy Action Plan is expected to have a direct and immediate impact on a wide range of industries that produce or use plastic packaging. According to a tax report by Ernst and Young published in 2021, the UK, Spain and Italy are expected to be among the first to shift responsibility to manufacturers by introducing corresponding taxes on single-use plastic.

From March 2023, all companies selling food and drinks to French supermarkets have to display a recycling logo on labels as well as a QR code that provides shoppers with detailed information about packaging and recycling. In addition, fruit and vegetables sold in units of less than 1.5 kg may no longer be packaged in single-use plastic containers. Duty regulations or taxes on plastic packaging already exist in Spain, Portugal and Italy, as well as (in a slightly more relaxed version) in the UK. We expect to see many more local ordinances to engage industry, and possibly consumers, in the shift towards more sustainable packaging and consumption. NextGenPaper holds the key.

EU Recycling Targets for Packaging  
Waste by 203

F.A.Q.

Here is a collection of the most frequently asked questions and the answers:

How does NextGenPaper differ from other suppliers of multi-barrier paper packaging?

The special feature of NGP multi-barrier papers is that the functional coating can be applied to any paper. In addition to the aforementioned kraft and sugar cane paper, customised papers are also possible. Furthermore, NextGenPaper is currently the only supplier of coated, tree-free papers. The tree-free sugar cane paper is our number 1 in terms of sustainability.

Is NGP packaging "organic"?

Organic is not a defined and protected term outside the food industry; it is therefore difficult to say whether NGP products are organic or not, because what are the criteria for that?! Is it about biodegradability? Then most of the packaging would be organic. Is NGP compostable? Not yet, but we are already working on home compostable packaging material.

How can NGP multi-barrier papers be printed?

NextGenPaper products are single-sided coated papers, which means the multi-barrier papers can also be printed on the non-coated side like "conventional" papers using, for example,  offset, digital or screen printing processes.

Where can I get NGP multi-barrier paper?

NextGenPaper is available from our listed wholesalers. Please do not hesitate to contact us. 

Do you need a new packaging machine to process NextGenPaper?

No, because NextGenPaper multi-barrier papers can be used on the usual machines after minor technical adaptations, such as, for example, a longer sealing time. We will be happy to assist you with the adjustment of your machines. 

Why are NextGenPaper multi-barrier papers the environmentally friendly alternative to plastic packaging?

NGP multi-barrier papers are mainly used for disposable packaging. Compared to plastic, NextGenPaper can be easily disposed of in the waste paper stream and recycled. Disposable plastic packaging, on the other hand, is usually difficult or impossible to recycle. 

Can NGP multi-barrier papers be tailored to specific functional requirements?

Yes. There are two different coatings that meet different barrier requirements. In addition, any paper can be coated. 

For which applications is NGP multi-barrier paper made from sugar cane particularly suitable?

NGP multi-barrier papers based on sugar cane paper are our most environmentally friendly solution. Sugar cane paper is made from the waste of sugar production from sugarcane, making it a 100% tree-free upcycled material. 

For which applications is NGP kraft paper particularly suitable?

NGP kraft paper is particularly suitable for packaging that requires especially high tear strength. 

Glossar

B

Bagasse

Bagasse is a by-product left over from sugar production after the sugar canes have been pressed. The fibrous remains can be excellently processed into paper, among other things. 

Barrier dispersion varnishes

A (barrier) dispersion varnish has an aqueous consistency. The coating is applied to the paper and then dries purely physically. This means that the water-containing parts dry out quickly without aids such as UV light. 

Barrier properties

In order to protect the products in a package, various barriers are needed, e.g. against water, grease or oxygen. Which barriers a packaging material can fulfil and how well is referred to as barrier properties.

Biodegradable

A substance is biodegradable if it can be decomposed by microorganisms and/or bacteria. How long the decomposition process takes is not prescribed. 

Bisphenol A (BPA)

Chemical compound mainly used in the production of various plastics. Included in the list of SVHC (Substances of Very High Concern) by ECHA due to its endocrine disrupting effects.

C

Circular economy

In a functioning circular economy, products are reused as long as possible. When a product has reached the end of its life, the raw materials remain in the economy and are used for other products. This minimises the amount of waste produced. 

Coating process

Barrier papers like NextGenPaper get their special properties by being coated with a varnish or similar. Depending on the coating, this is applied to the paper in a different process.  

Cobb (water absorption capacity) g/m2

Standardised Cobb value measurements can be used to determine how much water a material absorbs in a specified period of time. For this purpose, the test material is exposed to water for e.g. 1800 sec. exposed to water. Afterwards, the material is weighed. The material has also been weighed before the test. The lower the Cobb value, i.e. the increase in weight after the test, the higher the barrier property of the material against water.

Composite material

A composite material (also called composite material) refers to a material combination of two or more materials that are bonded together over their entire surface and cannot be easily detached from each other. 

compostable

Compostable means that materials are biodegradable under certain conditions and within a defined period of time. A distinction is made here between composting in home composting or in industrial composting plants.

D

Deforestation-free

An EU regulation on deforestation-free supply chains is due to come into force in 2023. This is intended to curb global deforestation (clear-cutting and deforestation) caused by wood products. In future, every product imported into the EU must be verifiably traceable and deforestation-free.

Deinking process

In the deiking process, the printing inks are removed from the waste paper with the help of chemicals. 

F

Fat barrier

Packaging with a grease barrier protects the packaged goods from greasy substances. The KIT value and the resistance to various oils precisely indicate the resistance value. 

Flowpack

Flowpacks are a type of pouch packaging, also known as a tubular bag. Flowpacks are used frequently, especially in the food sector, as they are exceptionally stable and require only a small amount of material. 

G

Green Deal

Under the EU's 2018 Circular Economy Action Plan ("Green Deal"), legally binding targets and deadlines have been set for waste recycling and landfill reduction from 2025. For example, a common EU target is a 70% recycling rate for packaging waste by 2030.

H

Halogen-free

Product total complies with limit values of 1500ppm halogens. Technically relevant halogens include fluorine, chlorine, bromine and iodine.

Heat sealability

Production of an adhesive bond under the influence of temperature without the addition of hot glue. The sealability of a coating lies in its properties.

HVTR (Hexane Vapor Transmission rate) g/(m2 +d)

23 °C/50 % examines the barrier properties of packaging materials against non-polar substances by measuring the amount of hexane vapour that penetrates the exposed surface from an evaporation chamber under controlled conditions. The lower the value, the higher the barrier against mineral oil-saturated hydrocarbons.

K

KIT (Oil & Grease resistance)

a method for determining the grease resistance of paper and board by testing the degree of surface repellency and/or anti-wicking properties of paper and board with organophobic materials. The higher the value, the better. The highest value is 12.

M

Monomers

A simple molecule with two or more binding sites through which it forms covalent bonds with other monomer molecules to form a macromolecule.

MOSH/MOAH

Mineral Oil Saturated Hydrocarbons, harmful chemical compound that accumulates in the liver and lymph
Mineral Oil Aromatic Hydrocarbons, chemical compound suspected of having a carcinogenic effect.

Multi-Barrier Lacquer

Lacquer layer that offers various barrier effects

Municipal waste

This includes waste from private households and comparable facilities (e.g. doctors' surgeries, kindergartens or care facilities). 

O

OTR (Oxygen Transmission Rate) cc/(m2 +d)

23 °C/50 % evaluates the barrier properties or ability of different packaging materials to resist the permeation of oxygen by assessing the passage of oxygen molecules through a solid material over a period of time. The lower the value, the higher the oxygen barrier properties of the material.

Oxygen barrier

Packaging with an oxygen barrier protects the packaged goods from contact with oxygen. The OTR value of a material precisely indicates the resistance value. 

P

Paper recycling

Recycled paper is a valuable raw material that can be excellently reused. In addition, recycled paper is significantly more environmentally friendly than virgin fibre paper. The production of recycled paper requires just 50% of the energy and 33% of the water compared to virgin fibre paper. 

PE/PLA-free

PLA stands for polylactic acid, a synthetic polymer that belongs to the group of polyesters.  
PE = Polyethylene, the best-known and most widely used plastic.

PFAS (per- and polyfl uroalkyl derivatives)

Large, complex group of synthetic chemicals consisting of long chains of carbon-fluorine compounds that are difficult to break down. Strong health effects on the immune system, thyroid, liver, lipid and insulin dysregulation, kidneys, reproduction, cancer, among others.

Plastic extrusion coating

Coating in which plastic, aluminium or paper carrier films are combined with a thermoplastic layer applied to them to form composites that are difficult to separate.

Plasticiser

Harmful substances that are added to brittle materials to make them more flexible. Negative effects on kidneys, liver, harmful to fruit and fertility.

Polymer coating

Also synthetic stiff coating. Coating of a material with a polymeric synthetic material.

Polyvinylidene chloride (PVDC) coating

Highly effective chlorinated barrier coating polymer / barrier film, containing NIAS (non-intentionally added substances) which can easily migrate.

R

Recyclate

Substances or objects that consist wholly or partly of materials that have been recycled, e.g. plastics obtained from recycling processes.

T

Tree-free

Tree-free paper is made from alternative raw materials and does not contain fibres from trees (including recycled paper fibres from wood). Tree-free paper is, for example, sugar cane paper, as it is produced exclusively from the waste materials of the sugar cane plant. 

V

Value chain

With the help of the value chain, the different manufacturing steps in a company are presented in an orderly sequence. 

W

Waste management

According to Section 3 (14) of the KrWG, waste management is the provision, transfer, collection, transport, recovery and disposal of waste.

Water barrier

Packaging with a water barrier protects the packaged goods from contact with water. The Cobb value of a material precisely indicates the resistance value. 

Water vapour barrier

Packaging with a water vapour barrier protects the packaged goods from contact with water vapour. The WVTR value of a material precisely indicates the resistance value. 

WVTR (water vapour diffusion resistance) g/m2

23°C/85 % or 23 °C/ 50 % Also called water vapour transmission rate (WVTR), it is the amount of water vapour that penetrates a substance or material over a certain period of time. The lower the value, the lower the water vapour permeability - and the better the barriereffect ageinst water vapour

About

Das Unternehmens-Konsortium NextGenPaper unterstützt Wirtschaft und Handel mit aggregierter Fachkompetenz bei der Vermeidung von Plastikmüll. Mit einer radikal nachhaltigen Verpackungs-Lösung, die eine Zeitenwende im Packaging sofort möglich macht - ohne zu überfordern.

The tower of packaging power 

Das ist NextGenPaper

Die NextGenPaper GmbH ist ein Unternehmenskonsortium aus Verpackungs- und Vertriebsspezialisten
mit Sitz in Unterschleißheim bei München. Es wurde 2022 gegründet, um ökologische, praktikable Verpackungslösungen zu entwickeln. NGP wird von einem hochspezialisierten Team aus praxiserfahrenen Unternehmern der Verpackungsindustrie geleitet. 

The People 

Das NextGenPaper Team

NextGenPaper wird von einem hochspezialisierten Team aus erfahrenen Unternehmern mit aggregierter Verpackungs-Kompetenz geleitet. Dazu zählen:


Florian Walch

CEO
Spezialist für Druck- & Verpackung


Jakob Kaikkis

CSO
VC- und Emerging Markets-Experte


Torsten Uhlig

CTO
Koryphäe für Beschichtungsverfahren
und made-to-measure-Lösungen


Florian Herrmann

CMO
Experte für Branding & strategische
Marketingberatung


Ralf Troyer

Mitbegründer & Head of Production
Beschichtungs- & Laminierungsprofi


Mark Fregin

Head of R&D
Lackexperte


Laura Gilsbach

Spezialistin für Lackformulierung,
-rezeptierung und -optimierung

Umweltschutz made easy

 
Unsere Mission 

NextGenPaper tritt an, um ein führender Anbieter für kompostier- und recycelbare, EU-konforme Verpackungslösungen zu werden. Mit universell einsetzbaren baumfreien Multibarriere-Papieren der neuesten Generation geben wir Unternehmen und Verbrauchern die Möglichkeit, Plastik- und Verpackungsmüll mühelos zu vermeiden. Über unser ebenso nachhaltiges wie „benutzerfreundliches“ Angebot wollen wir den Umwelt- & Klimaschutz weltweit wirksam unterstützen. 

We mean it

NextGenPaper und Nachhaltigkeit 

Wir meinen es ernst: NextGenPaper will sozial und ökologisch größtmögliche Verantwortung übernehmen. Das erste Etappenziel auf diesem Gebiet hat unser Start-up mit den NGP Multibarriere-Papieren aus Zuckerrohr bereits erreicht. Und das ist erst der Anfang.

Beispiels-CO2-Emissionsrechnung, basierend auf EU-Norm EN16258

Weitere Nachhaltigkeitsaspekte von nextgenpaper

  • keine zusätzlichen Anbauflächen 
  • Upcycling durch Verwendung von organischen Abfallprodukten 
  • keine gesundheitsgefährdenden Emissionen 
  • direkte Verarbeitung in Fabriken vor Ort
  • emissionsarmer Transport des baumfreien Materials per Schiff statt LKW 
  • im Altpapier recycelbar  
  • Unterstützung der Fabrik-ArbeiterInnen in Caucatal / Kolumbien durch eine Stiftung vor Ort (Gesundheit und sanitäre Grundversorgung, frühkindliche Betreuung, Einkommenssicherung und soziale Unterstützung)

Nachhaltig zukunftsfähig mit nextgenpaper 

Die Sustainability-Pläne der EU

Die zukünftigen Recycling-Vorgaben der EU für Verpackungen sind die strengsten der Welt. Mit NGP-Produkten können Hersteller diese Bestimmungen ohne großen Aufwand erfüllen. Bereits 2018 wurden im Rahmen des EU-Aktionsplans „Kreislaufwirtschaft“ (Green Deal) rechtsverbindliche Ziele und Fristen für das Abfallrecycling und die Reduzierung der Deponierung ab 2025 festgelegt. In der Folge sind die Recyclingraten für Kunststoffverpackungen bereits auf ein Allzeithoch von über 40% gestiegen – dreimal so hoch wie in den USA und ein Quantensprung im Vergleich zu den meisten Ländern Asiens.

Bis 2035 sollen nicht mehr als 10 % der Siedlungsabfälle auf einer Deponie abgelagert werden. Es wird erwartet, dass der EU-Aktionsplan „Kreislaufwirtschaft“ direkte und schnelle Auswirkungen auf ein breites Spektrum von Branchen haben wird, die Kunststoffverpackungen herstellen oder verwenden. Laut einem 2021 veröffentlichten Steuerbericht von Ernst and Young werden das Vereinigte Königreich, Spanien und Italien voraussichtlich zu den Ersten gehören, die die Verantwortung auf die Hersteller abwälzen, indem sie entsprechende Steuern für Einwegplastik einführen.

Ab März 2023 müssen alle Unternehmen, die Lebensmittel und Getränke an französische Supermärkte verkaufen, ein Recycling-Logo auf den Etiketten anbringen sowie einen QR-Code, der den Käufern detaillierte Informationen über Verpackung und Recycling liefert. Außerdem darf Obst und Gemüse, das in Einheiten von weniger als 1,5 kg verkauft wird, nicht mehr in Einweg-Plastikbehältern verpackt werden. Abgabenverordnungen bzw. Steuer auf Kunststoffverpackungen gibt es bereits auch in Spanien, Portugal und Italien. Auch in abgeschwächter Form in Großbritannien. Wir erwarten noch viele weitere lokale Verordnungen, um die Industrie und wahrscheinlich auch die Verbraucher für den Wandel hin zu nachhaltigeren Verpackungen und nachhaltigerem Konsum zu gewinnen. NextGenPaper hat den Schlüssel dazu.

EU-Ziel für das Recycling von 
Verpackungsabfällen bis 2030 

F.A.Q.

Anbei eine Sammlung der häufigsten Fragen und die Antworten darauf:

Inwieweit unterscheidet sich NextGenPaper von anderen Anbietern von Multibarriere-Papierverpackungen?

Das Besondere an den NGP Multibarrierepapieren ist, dass die funktionelle Beschichtung auf jedes Papier aufgetragen werden kann. Neben dem erwähnten Kraft- und Zuckerrohrpapier sind auch kundenspezifische Papiere möglich. Außerdem ist NextGenPaper aktuell der einzige Anbieter von beschichteten, baumfreien Papieren. Das baumfreie Zuckerrohrpapier ist unsere Nummer 1 in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit.

Sind NGP Verpackungen „Bio“?

Bio ist außerhalb der Lebensmittelindustrie kein festgelegter und geschützter Begriff. Somit ist es auch schwierig zu sagen, ob NGP-Produkte bio sind oder nicht, denn was sind die Kriterien dafür?! Geht es um die biologische Abbaubarkeit? Dann wären die meisten Verpackungen bio. Ist NGP kompostierbar? Aktuell noch nicht, allerdings arbeiten wir bereits an einem heimkompostierbaren Verpackungsmaterial.

Wie können NGP Multibarriere-Papiere bedruckt werden?

Die NextGenPaper Produkte sind einseitig beschichtete Papiere. Deshalb können die Multibarriere-Papiere auf der nicht-beschichteten Seite wie "normale" Papiere auch bedruckt werden, zum Beispiel im Offset-, Digital- oder Siebdruckverfahren.

Wo kann ich NGP Multibarriere-Papier beziehen?

NextGenPaper können Sie bei unseren gelisteten Großhändlern beziehen. Sprechen Sie uns gerne darauf an. 

Braucht man für die Verarbeitung von NextGenPaper eine neue Verpackungsmaschine?

Nein, denn NextGenPaper Multibarriere-Papiere können nach kleinen technischen Anpassungen auf den gewohnten Maschinen verwendet werden. Kleinere Adaptionen sind beispielsweise eine längere Siegelzeit. Bei der Einstellung Ihrer Maschinen leisten wir gerne Hilfestellung. 

Warum sind Multibarriere-Papiere von NextGenPaper die umweltfreundliche Alternative zu Plastikverpackungen?

NGP Multibarriere-Papiere werden vor allem für Einweg-Verpackungen eingesetzt. Im Vergleich zu Plastik, kann NextGenPaper ganz einfach im Altpapier entsorgt und anschließend recycelt werden. Einwegplastikverpackungen hingegen können meist nur schwer oder gar nicht recycelt werden. 

Können NGP Multibarriere-Papiere auf spezifische funktionelle Anforderungen zugeschnitten werden?

Ja. Es gibt zwei unterschiedliche Beschichtungen, die verschiedene Barriereanforderungen erfüllen. Zusätzlich können alle beliebigen Papiere beschichtet werden. 

Für welche Einsatzgebiete eignet sich NGP Multibarriere-Papier aus Zuckerrohr besonders?

NGP Multibarriere-Papiere auf Basis von Zuckerrohrpapier sind unsere umweltfreundlichste Lösung. Zuckerrohrpapier wird aus den Abfällen der Zuckerproduktion aus Zuckerrohr hergestellt und somit ein 100 % baumfreies Upcyclingmaterial. 

Für welche Einsatzgebiete eignet sich NGP Kraftpapier besonders?

Das NGP Kraftpapier eignet sich vor allem für Verpackungen, die besonders hohe Anforderungen an die Reißfestigkeit haben. 

Glossar

A

Abfallbewirtschaftung

Nach § 3 Abs. 14 im KrWG ist die Abfallbewirtschaftung die Bereitstellung, die Überlassung, die Sammlung, die Beförderung sowie die Verwertung und die Beseitigung von Abfällen.

B

Bagasse

Bagasse ist ein Nebenprodukt, das bei der Zuckerproduktion nach dem Auspressen der Zuckerrohre übrigbleibt. Die faserigen Überreste können u.a. hervorragend zu Papier weiterverarbeitet werden. 

Barriere-Dispersionslacke

Ein (Barriere-)Dispersionslack hat eine wässerige Basis. Der Lack wird auf das Papier aufgetragen und trocknet anschließend rein physikalisch. Das bedeutet, dass die wasserhaltigen Anteile rasch ohne Hilfsmittel wie UV-Licht verdunsten. 

Barriereeigenschaften

Um die Produkte in einer Verpackung zu schützen, braucht es verschiedene Barrieren, z.B. gegen Wasser, Fett oder Sauerstoff. Welche Barrieren ein Verpackungsmaterial wie gut erfüllen kann, wird als Barriereeigenschaften bezeichnet.

Baumfrei

Baumfreies Papier wird aus alternativen Rohstoffen hergestellt und enthält keine Fasern von Bäumen (auch keine recycelten Papierfasern aus Holz). Baumfreies Papier ist zum Beispiel Zuckerrohrpapier, da es ausschließlich aus den Abfallstoffen der Zuckerrohrpflanze produziert wird. 

Beschichtungsverfahren

Barrierepapiere wie NextGenPaper erhalten ihre besonderen Eigenschaften durch die Beschichtung mit einem Lack oder Ähnlichem. Je nach Anforderung wird diese mit unterschiedlichen Druckverfahren auf das Papier aufgebracht.

biologisch abbaubar

chemische Verbindung die hauptsächlich bei der Herstellung verschiedener Kunststoffe verwendet wird. Auf Grund seiner endokrinen Wirkung von der ECHA in der Liste der SVHC (besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe) aufgenommen

Bisphenol A (BPA)

chemische Verbindung die hauptsächlich bei der Herstellung verschiedener Kunststoffe verwendet wird. Auf Grund seiner endokrinen Wirkung von der ECHA in der Liste der SVHC (besonders besorgniserregende Stoffe) aufgenommen

C

Cobb (Wasseraufnahmefähigkeit)

Mit Hilfe von standardisierten Cobbwertmessungen kann ermittelt werden, wie viel Wasser ein Material in einer festgelegten Zeitspanne aufnimmt. Dafür wird das Testmaterial für z.B. 1800 sec. Wasser ausgesetzt. Danach wird das Material gewogen. Auch vor dem Test wurde das Material bereits gewogen. Je niedriger der Cobb-Wert, also die Gewichtszunahme nach dem Test, desto höher ist die Barriere-Eigenschaft des Materials gegenüber Wasser.

D

Deinking-Verfahren

Im Deiking-Prozess werden die Druckfarben und Beschichtungen aus dem Altpapier mit Hilfe von Chemikalien entfernt. 

E

Entwaldungsfrei

2023 soll eine EU-Verordnung zu entwaldungsfreien Lieferketten in Kraft treten. Dadurch soll die weltweite Entwaldung (Rodung und Kahlschlag) durch Holzprodukte eingedämmt werden. Jedes Produkt das in die EU importiert wird, muss zukünftig nachweislich rückverfolgbar und entwaldungsfrei sein.

F

Fettbarriere

Verpackungen mit einer Fettbarriere schützen das Packgut von fettigen Substanzen. Der KIT-Wert und die Resistenz gegen verschiedene Öle geben den Widerstandswert genau an. 

Flowpack

Flowpacks sind eine Beutelverpackung, die auch als Schlauchbeutel bezeichnet wird. Vor allem im Lebensmittelbereich werden Flowpacks häufig eingesetzt, da sie außerordentlich stabil sind und nur einen geringen Materialaufwand benötigen. 

G

Green Deal

Im Rahmen des 2018 vorgelegten EU-Aktionsplans "Kreislaufwirtschaft" (“Green Deal”), wurden rechtsverbindliche Ziele und Fristen für das Abfallrecycling und die Reduzierung der Deponierung ab 2025 festgelegt. Ein gemeinsames EU-Ziel ist beispielsweise eine Recyclingquote von 70 % für Verpackungsabfälle bis 2030.

H

Halogenfrei

Produkt hält Grenzwerte von 1500ppm Halogene total ein. Zu den technisch relevanten Halogenen zählen Fluor, Chlor, Brom und Jod.

Heißsiegelfähigkeit

Herstellung einer Klebeverbindung unter Druck- und Temperatureinfluss ohne den Zusatz von Heißkleber. Die Siegelfähigkeit einer Beschichtung liegt in ihren Eigenschaften begründet.

HVTR (Hexane Vapor Transmission rate)

Untersucht die Barriereeigenschaften von Verpackungsmaterialien gegenüber unpolaren Stoffen, indem die Menge an Hexandampf gemessen wird, die unter kontrollierten Bedingungen aus einer Verdunstungskammer durch die exponierte Oberfläche dringt. Je niedriger der Wert, desto höher die Barriere gegen mineralölgesättigte Kohlenwasserstoffe.

K

KIT (Oil & Grease resistance)

Eine Methode zur Bestimmung der Fettbeständigkeit von Papier und Karton durch Prüfung des Grades der Oberflächenabweisung und/oder der Anti-Wicking-Eigenschaften von Papier und Karton mit organophoben Materialien. Je höher der Wert, desto besser. Der höchste Wert ist 12.

kompostierbar

Kompostierbar bedeutet, dass Materialien unter bestimmten Bedingungen und in einem festgelegten Zeitraum biologisch abbaubar sind. Hierbei wird in die Kompostierung auf dem Heimkompost oder in industriellen Kompostanlagen unterschieden.

Kreislaufwirtschaft

In einer funktionierenden Kreislaufwirtschaft werden Produkte so lange es möglich ist wiederverwendet. Hat ein Produkt das Ende seiner Lebensdauer erreicht, verbleiben die Rohstoffe weiterhin in der Wirtschaft und werden für andere Produkte genutzt. Dadurch minimieren sich die anfallenden Abfälle. 

Kunststoff-Extrusionsbeschichtung

Beschichtung bei der Kunststoff-, Aluminium- oder Papierträgerfolien, mit einer darauf aufgebrachten Thermoplastenschicht zu schwer trennbaren Verbunden kombiniert werden

M

Monomere

Ein einfaches Molekül mit zwei oder mehr Bindungsstellen über die es kovalente Bindungen mit anderen Monomermolekülen eingeht um ein Makromolekül zu formen

MOSH/MOAH

Mineral Oil Saturated Hydrocarbons, gesundheitsschädigende chemische Verbindung die sich in Leber und Lymphen anreichert.
Mineral Oil Aromatic Hydrocarbons, chemische Verbindung die unter Verdacht steht eine karzinogene Wirkung zu haben.

Multi-Barrierelack

Lackschicht die verschiedene Barrierewirkungen bietet

O

OTR (Sauerstoffdurchlässigkeit)

Bewertet die Barriereeigenschaften oder die Fähigkeit verschiedener Verpackungsmaterialien, der Permeation von Sauerstoff zu widerstehen, indem der Durchgang von Sauerstoffmolekülen durch ein festes Material über einen bestimmten Zeitraum bewertet wird. Je niedriger der Wert, desto höher die Sauerstoffbarriereeigenschaften des Materials.

P

Papierrecycling

Genutztes Papier ist ein wertvoller Rohstoff, der hervorragend wiederverwendet werden kann. Zudem ist Recyclingpapier deutlich umweltfreundlicher als Frischfaserpapier. Für die Produktion von Recyclingpapier werden gerade einmal 50% der Energie und 33% der Wassermenge im Vergleich zu Frischfaserpapier benötigt. 

PE-/PLA-frei

PLA steht für Polylactid Acid (Polymilchsäure), synthetische Polymere, welche zu den Polyestern zählen. 
PE = Polyethylen, bekannstestes und am meisten genutztes Plastik.

PFAS (Per- und Polyfluroalkylderivaten)

Große, komplexe Gruppe synthetischer Chemikalien, die aus langen Ketten von Kohlenstoff-Fluor Verbindungenbestehen und daher schwer abbaubar sind. Starke Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit, unter anderem auf das Immunsystem, Schilddrüse, Leber, Lipid- und Insulin Dysregulation, Nieren, Fortpflanzung, Krebs.

Polymerbeschichtung

Auch Kunststoffbeschichtung. Beschichtung eines Werkstoffs mit einem polymeren Kunststoff.

Polyvinylidenchlorid (PVDC)-Beschichtung

Höchst wirksames, chlorhaltiges Barrierebeschichtungs-Polymer / Barrierefolie, enthalten NIAS (non-intentionally added substances) die leicht migrieren können.

R

Rezyklat

Stoffe oder Gegenstände, die ganz oder teilweise aus Materialien bestehen, die einem Recycling entstammen z.B. Kunststoffe die aus Recyclingprozessen gewonnen werden.

S

Sauerstoffbarriere

Verpackungen mit einer Sauerstoffbarriere schützen das Packgut vor dem Kontakt mit Sauerstoff. Der OTR-Wert eines Materials gibt den Widerstandswert genau an. 

Siedlungsabfälle

Darunter fallen Abfälle aus privaten Haushalten und vergleichbaren Einrichtungen (z.B. Arztpraxen, Kindergärten oder Pflegeeinrichtungen). 

V

Verbundmaterial

Ein Verbundmaterial (auch Verbundwerkstoff genannt) bezeichnet eine Materialkombination aus zwei oder mehreren Werkstoffen, die vollflächig miteinander verbunden sind und sich nicht einfach voneinander lösen lassen. 

W

Wasserbarriere

Verpackungen mit einer Wasserbarriere schützen das Packgut vor dem Kontakt mit Wasser. Der Cobb-Wert eines Materials gibt den Widerstandswert genau an. 

Wasserdampfbarriere

Verpackungen mit einer Wasserdampfbarriere schützen das Packgut vor dem Kontakt mit Wasserdampf. Der WVTR-Wert eines Materials gibt den Widerstandswert genau an. 

Weichmacher

Gesundheitsschädliche Stoffe, die spröden Materialien zugesetzt werden um sie flexibler zu machen. Negative Auswirkungen auf u.a. Nieren, Leber, frucht- und fruchtsbarkeitsschädigend

Wertschöpfungskette

Mit Hilfe der Wertschöpfungskette werden die unterschiedlichen Fertigungsschritte in einem Unternehmen in einer geordneten Reihenfolge dargestellt. 

WVTR (Wasserdampfdiffusionswiderstand)

Auch Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit (WVTR) genannt, ist die Menge an Wasserdampf, die eine Substanz oder ein Material über einen bestimmten Zeitraum durchdringt. Je niedriger der Wert, desto geringer ist die Wasserdampfdurchlässigkeit und desto besser ist die Barrierewirkung gegen Wasserdampf.